No Image Available


Read more from TrainingZone

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1705321608055-0’); });

European Computer Driving Licence


The ECDL is the European-wide qualification which enables people to demonstrate their competence in computer skills. Its aims are:

to raise the general level of competency in IT
* to improve productivity at work
* to enable employers to invest more efficiently in IT
* and to ensure that best practice and quality issues are understood and implemented

How does it work? The ECDL syllabus is designed to cover the key concepts of computing, its practical applications and their use in the workplace and society in general. It is broken down into seven modules, each of which must be passed before the ECDL certificate is awarded. ECDL is open to anyone - regardless of age, education, experience or background.

Candidates will purchase a logbook listing all the modules. As they pass each module, the accredited testing body will sign the logbook. The modules may be taken in any order and over any period of time - even all at once - offering maximum flexibility. When all the modules have been successfully completed, the logbook is exchanged for a certificate. Users may, if they wish, just walk in off the street and take the tests. More likely, they will opt for courses based on the ECDL syllabus.


Get the latest from TrainingZone.

Elevate your L&D expertise by subscribing to TrainingZone’s newsletter! Get curated insights, premium reports, and event updates from industry leaders.


Thank you!