No Image Available


Read more from TrainingZone

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1705321608055-0’); });

Government Launches Skills Framework for the Information Age


The UK government has launched ‘The Skills Framework for the Information Age’ (SFIA). The purpose of the framework is to provide standard job definitions and competencies across the IT and Communications industries. The framework should help end the recruitment headache that many employers face – enabling them to compare job roles properly and create a level playing field across specialisms. Employees will find it easier to understand their career paths and other roles to which they might be suited. The framework has 6 categories:

Strategy and Planning

Management and Administration

Sales and Marketing

Development and Implementation

Service Delivery


Each category is further sub divided and the competencies for each role are defined. The framework does not include product knowledge – so some work will need to be done by employers in fully defining job requirements. However the framework should provide greater consistency in terms of roles, responsibilities and salaries.


Get the latest from TrainingZone.

Elevate your L&D expertise by subscribing to TrainingZone’s newsletter! Get curated insights, premium reports, and event updates from industry leaders.

Thank you!