No Image Available


Read more from TrainingZone

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1705321608055-0’); });

Sports Coaching Qualification Hits First Wave


The new National Coaching Certificate is to be offered to 22 sports in the first wave of its roll out.

The sports invited to join in implementation of the NCC include: athletics, badminton, basketball, canoeing, cricket, cycling, equestrian, football, golf, gymnastics, hockey, judo, netball, rowing, rugby league, rugby union, sailing, squash, swimming, table tennis, tennis and triathlon.

UK and Home Country governing bodies for six of the 22 have also been asked to act as trailblazers to test the new NCC system.

The six - athletics, cricket, rowing, rugby union, swimming and triathlon - will be fast-tracked so they could report back on how it is working and help to modify the process to ensure it works best. These sports would be in a position to offer NCC qualifications during 2006.

Sports Minister Richard Caborn said: "Improving the number and ability of coaches is a vital part of our plan to improve sports provision in the UK.

"The NCC will give coaches a nationally recognised and transferable qualification for the first time."


Get the latest from TrainingZone.

Elevate your L&D expertise by subscribing to TrainingZone’s newsletter! Get curated insights, premium reports, and event updates from industry leaders.


Thank you!