No Image Available


Read more from TrainingZone

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1705321608055-0’); });

New Induction Standards for Care Sector


Skills for Care, the strategic development body for the adult social care workforce in England, has launched a new set of Common Induction Standards (CIS).

The new standards are designed for people entering social care, and those changing roles or employers within adult social care and were developed to reflect recent changes to the NVQ requirements and the Care Council Code of Conduct. The new CIS will form the basis of registration of all social care staff.

Skills for Care chief executive, Andrea Rowe said: “The new 12-week CIS induction period will enable carers to give high quality care and support, provide recognition for their work, and prepare them for entry onto NVQ health and social care.”

The Commission for Social Care Inspection has been informed of the changes to induction, so inspectors will be looking for use of either the old or new standards until September 30 2006, and will regard the new ones as the national minimum standard requirements for new staff starting after this date.

Four new CIS documents are now available to download free from the Skills for Care website at:

Documents include the standards with a glossary which outlines how they link to recently revised NVQ requirements, a manager’s guide, a guide for new workers, and a certificate for managers to sign to confirm that standards have been met.


Get the latest from TrainingZone.

Elevate your L&D expertise by subscribing to TrainingZone’s newsletter! Get curated insights, premium reports, and event updates from industry leaders.


Thank you!